James and Marina

What are some interesting facts about you?

James- I am from upstate New York and im an aircraft mechanic in the Airforce.

Marina- I Lived on a volcano in Sicily for 3 years and im going to school for dental hygiene.

What are some of your goals in life?

James- I Want to commission and I want to retire on the beach

Marina- Someday I would like to become a Dentist, but other than that I just want to be a good person and set a great example for our son.

What are some words you would suggest people or yourself live by?

James- Don’t be afraid to set the bar high.

Marina- You are better than you were yesterday, and tomorrow you will be better than you are today as long as you never give up.

What is your athletic background?

James- I played high school football and intermural football in college, ive also ran a 15k.

Marina-  I never played sports,  but I lived by a lake while I was growing up so I swam a lot. other than that this is my first experience with working out.

What is/are your favorite parts of newbreed crossfit?

James- I really love the emphasis placed on form and doing the workout properly, aswell as the encouraging environment.

Marina- its really nice to have childcare and i love the one on one help that’s available to everyone, but I think my all time favorite thing is the environment. Even when I finish last I never finish alone.

How has your life changed since starting crossfit?

James- I feel stronger and my mobility has increased drastically, I don’t look at fitness as a chore anymore now its something I really enjoy.

Marina- How hasn’t my life changed? I feel more confident in myself, I have more energy and im stronger than ive ever been. JP is also happier, especially when he gets to play with the other kids.

What are some of your favorite P.R’s?

James- considering that I couldn’t do a power clean because of my poor mobility, the fact that I was able to complete a wod based on power cleans is my favorite personal record.

Marina- Doing a rope climb!!! Day 1 I attempted to climb that rope and I failed miserably, day 60 I walk in and dominate it. It was a pretty big deal.

What are your future training goals?

James- I want to do 5 consecutive muscle ups and to improve my mobility.

Marina- I have so many but my top two are to do and unassisted pull up and to eventually compete.

What are your favorite foods and hobbies?

James- I love the farmers burger with mushrooms with a side of truffle fries and a duchess de bourgene from big orange. My hobbies are camping and hiking, pretty much anything out doors.

Marina-  My all time favorite food is pizza, I could eat it all day. I have a lot of hobbies; sewing, scrapbooking, baking, photography, swimming, riding my bike.

Tell the box something they don’t know about you.

James & marina- We met in tech school in the Airforce, and we have a german shepherd

Zach Fonville